News 6 July 2020

Abu Dhabi Media has announced broadcasting of the UFC Fight Island events, hosted at Yas Island, Abu Dhabi, during the month of July, will be exclusively through the "UFC Arabia" application, the first Arabic language UFC application in the Middle East and North Africa. Support programming of the upcoming events will also be aired through Abu Dhabi Sports Channels.

UFC will produce four events on Yas Island, including UFC® 251 and three Fight Night events.  The action-packed schedule begins with UFC® 251 on Saturday, 11 July, This will be followed by successive Fight Night events, to be held on Wednesday, 15 July; Saturday, 18 July; and Saturday, 25 July. Fans will see some of the biggest UFC talent compete with an anticipated championship title fight between bantamweights Deiveson Figueiredo and Joseph Benavidez, former middleweight champion Robert Whittaker as he takes on Darren Till and local fan favourite Mounir Lazzez as he makes his long awaited UFC debut. All these bouts will be exclusively broadcasted through the application.

Coverage of the fights comes as part of an interactive digital campaign launched by Abu Dhabi Sports Channels under the theme ‘Home of the Biggest Fights’. The UFC Arabia application is downloadable through all major online stores, such as Apple Store and Google Play, and is available on web, smart phone, smart TVs, and tablets. The app allows fans to track real-time updates of all UFC events and live-stream fights, anytime, anywhere, enabling them to switch from English to Arabic with ease

The modern and interactive approach of covering this global event comes in line with Abu Dhabi Media’s strategy to focus on producing distinctive exclusive content that matches the aspirations and interests of the sports audience, in addition to accelerating and creating innovative digital content on all company platforms. This will act as the first step in moving towards developing new digital platforms and smart applications that enhance direct interaction with audiences.

UFC Arabia subscription is available for a fee of 18.99 AED / month in UAE and 18.99 SAR/month in KSA, while, annual subscription will be offered at AED 189.99 / year in UAE and SAR 189.99 / year in KSA. The service is available in the following countries at a fee of US$4.99 /month or US$ 49.99 / year: Afghanistan, Algeria, Bahrain, Chad, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen. Live-stream of events will be provided for subscribers only within the countries specified in the Territory list.

Abu Dhabi Sports Channels

As part of the exceptional coverage of the upcoming international event, Abu Dhabi Sports Channels has dedicated "Abu Dhabi Sports 2" to broadcast a set of live as well as recorded daily and weekly programs to keep pace with the event, its historical aspects, the preparations of fighters, and behind-the-scenes. Additionally, analytical studios will broadcast exclusively from 5-26 July to cover the before and after of fights, as well as breaks and promos.

Live programs covering this event will include the "Yas Nights" program, broadcasted at 22:00 UAE time (21:00 KSA time), which will shed light on the importance of hosting this international sporting event in Abu Dhabi under the current circumstances, positioning it as the international capital of Martial Arts. This program will also allow audiences to stay abreast with latest preparations, developments, and news through the main studio, in conjunction with the field studio and a network of correspondents from the event, as well as the analytical and direct "UFC Studio" that will broadcast all day of the fights.

Abu Dhabi Sports Channel will broadcast the daily half hour recorded program "The Greatest Fights" at 19:00 UAE time (18:00 KSA time), which will showcase the best historical fights, focus on the details of fights, and host a group of renowned analysts. Moreover, the Channel will also air the program "Fighting Stars", which will be broadcasted daily for 30 minutes at 19:30:30 UAE time (18:30 KSA time) to highlight prominent historical fighters and feature their most important sporting achievements.

The channel will also broadcast a daily program titled “Connected” at 20:00 UAE time (19:00 KSA time) to monitor the latest news regarding UFC, the athletes, and the engagement of audiences on social media platforms. Furthermore, the channel will also broadcast a one-hour talk show titled "Fight Island" at 20:30 UAE time (19:30 KSA time), hosting a group of analysts to discuss the most important areas of interest to UFC fans, as well as, the program "Special Interview" aired at 21:30  UAE time (20:30 KSA time), hosting prominent UFC fighters and officials in direct and bold conversations.

Prior to 2019, UFC held events in Abu Dhabi in 2010, 2014 and 2019, including its first-ever outdoor event, UFC 112®: INVINCIBLE, in April 2010, UFC® FIGHT NIGHT: NOGUEIRA vs. NELSON in April 2014 and UFC 242: Khabib vs. Poirier in 2019.

 

Share This Content